Policy, Law, Economics and Politics - Deepening Democracy through Access to Information
This privately-owned website is operated and maintained by Creamer Media
We have detected that the browser you are using is no longer supported. As a result, some content may not display correctly.
We suggest that you upgrade to the latest version of any of the following browsers:
close notification
19 January 2017
Article by: Reuters
Ivory Coast President Alassane Ouattara
Photo: Bloomberg
Ivory Coast President Alassane Ouattara
Embed Code Close
  Related social media
Related social media terms:

Ivory Coast President Alassane Ouattara named a new, slightly smaller government on Wednesday, though there were few changes to major positions, according to a statement read on state-owned television.

The finance, budget and agricultural ministers held onto their jobs but Thierry Tanoh, the former head of pan-African Ecobank, replaced Adama Toungara as energy minister. Trade minister Jean-Louis Billon also lost his post.

Despite a two-day mutiny at the weekend that led to the dismissal of the heads of the army, police and gendarmes, the ministers of defence and the interior both kept their jobs.

The cabinet was reduced to 28 ministers from 35 in the previous government and includes seven new members.

Ouattara named Amadou Gon Coulibaly, a close adviser and senior figure in his RDR party, as prime minister on Tuesday.

Edited by: Reuters
Comment Guidelines (150 word limit)
  Topics on this page
Online Publishers Association