Deepening Democracy through Access to Information
Home / News / South African News RSS ← Back
Finance|SECURITY|Finance|Ace Magashule|Barbara Creecy|Bathabile Dlamini|Bongani Bongo|Collen Maine|Des Van Rooyen|Faith Muthambi|Jacob Zuma|Malusi Gigaba|Mosebenzi Zwane|Nathi Nhleko|Nompendulo Mkhatshwa|Nomvula Mokonyane|S'dumo Dlamini|Supra Mahumapelo|Violet Siwela

Email this article

separate emails by commas, maximum limit of 4 addresses

Verification Image. Please refresh the page if you cannot see this image.

Sponsored by


Article Enquiry

ANC reveals top 100 candidates on parliamentary list: Van Rooyen and Nhleko out

Verification Image. Please refresh the page if you cannot see this image.

Embed Video

ANC reveals top 100 candidates on parliamentary list: Van Rooyen and Nhleko out

15th March 2019

By: News24Wire


Font size: -+

Controversial former ministers Nathi Nhleko and Des Van Rooyen, whose role as finance minister lasted only a weekend, have been left out in the cold as the African National Congress (ANC) seeks to make room for new members in its parliamentary caucus.

This is according to a list submitted by the ANC to the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) on Wednesday and released by the political party late on Thursday evening.


Embattled former North West ANC chairperson Supra Mahumapelo is destined for the national assembly’s benches in the next administration, after the ANC’s branches elected him to be one of the party’s representatives in Parliament.

Mahumapelo, who is listed at number 5, joins the likes of Gauteng Finance MEC Barbara Creecy, ANC Youth League president Collen Maine, former labour federation Congress of the People President S'dumo Dlamini and speaker of the Mpumalanga legislature Violet Siwela, who are all newbies to the national assembly.


The ANC has already been chastised over its decision to stick with controversial leaders such as Nomvula Mokonyane, Malusi Gigaba, Bathabile Dlamini, Faith Muthambi and Mosebenzi Zwane, a decision which was defended by the party’s secretary general Ace Magashule on Wednesday.

"You are talking about people that have never been charged with any crime or offence. Why do you want to single out people because they’re out there in the media with allegations?" asked Magashule outside the IEC's offices.

This is in spite damning findings from the constitutional court against Bathabile, which resulted in the highest court in the land asking the national prosecuting authority to investigate the former Social Development MEC.

While Gigaba who quit as both a minister and member of parliament last year was also found to have lied under oath in a matter relating to the Oppenheimer Fireblade saga.

Bongani Bongo, who was appointed as State Security Minister by former President Jacob Zuma will also return to parliament.

The ANC which released a statement on Thursday celebrating its "young lions" who made it onto the national assembly and provincial lists, on the back of the EFF's list, which is populated by mainly young people being deployed to the national assembly following the May 8 polls, the party has included a former Fees Must Fall leader Nompendulo Mkhatshwa to their list.

Click here to download the full list


To subscribe email or click here
To advertise email or click here

Comment Guidelines

About is a product of Creamer Media.

Other Creamer Media Products include:
Engineering News
Mining Weekly
Research Channel Africa

Read more


We offer a variety of subscriptions to our Magazine, Website, PDF Reports and our photo library.

Subscriptions are available via the Creamer Media Store.

View store


Advertising on is an effective way to build and consolidate a company's profile among clients and prospective clients. Email

View options
Free daily email newsletter Register Now
Register Close